MU Extension

The University of Missouri Extension Council met Oct. 25

Members present at the meeting in person were Randy Burrus, Kyle Case, Dalton Connell, Darlene Dahms, Dru Howard, Betty Kunkel, and Stevie Patterson. Members Janice Becker, Janelle Blair, Chris Holliday, Terry Phelps, and Dalton Sanders attended via Zoom. Also present at the meeting was regional council members Thom Haines, Sarah Massengale, and Amy Glenn.

The council voted on the quorum draft presented by the Personnel and Policy Committee of two tiers of quorum numbers for transacting business. Chris Holliday moved to approve the new two-tiered quorum. Janelle Blair seconded and the motion carried.

The council discussed making the decision for years to come instead of a few months beforehand each year. Chris Holliday moved to close the Dent County Extension Office, every year to come, during the same time the Extension employees are off for winter break, which are the days between Christmas and New Years Day. Council employees will be paid for the days they would normally work during the time the office is closed. Dru Howard seconded the motion and the motion carried.

It was also brought up that the council has three positions that need to be filled. Kevin Crider began Nov. 1, filling the feral hog position at the extension.

The next meeting will be 5:30 p.m. Nov. 29 at the Salem Community Center @ the Armory.